Stylish blogger? Moi?

A good friend and fellow-blogger recently awarded me the Stylish Blogger award:

A very generous award, me thinks, given my entire lack of style whatsoever. I think in order to have bragging rights, I must go through with the responsibilities that come with the award. Here goes:

Link back and thank the person who gave you the award.

If By Yes and I have been very good friends since grade 8. Her blog is one of my favourites to follow, and since we now live on opposite sides of the country it makes it easier for me to keep up with what is going on in her life. She writes about battling depression and anxiety in a humorous, non self-pitying way, and now that she is a new mommy she posts incredibly cute pictures of her very cute son (and I’m not a baby person. I think he is the first baby I’ve ever thought of as cute, and I’m not sure if it’s because he is HER baby, or if he just happens to be a baby so cute even I can see it.  I think it’s the latter).

Share 7 things about yourself.

  1. I have a completely irrational fear of ship anchors. They make me very uncomfortable. I think it’s linked to my intense fear of The Deep. I realize scuba diving is amazing and there is so much beauty to be seen in the oceans, but just thinking of being under water for any amount of time terrifies me and instantly makes me feel claustrophobic. That being said, I LOVE BBC’s The Blue Planet. I can learn about the wonders of the ocean floor without having to visit it, and that’s more than good enough for me.
  2. I didn’t learn how to ride a bike until I was 22. I didn’t learn how to drive a car until I was 26, and I also didn’t get out of diapers until I was, like, 4. I’m apparently a really, really slow learner.
  3. When I was in Latvia I was almost pick-pocketed by a Russian man. I managed to foil him (he obviously sucked) but he knew that I knew exactly what he had been trying to do. It was a bit awkward, especially since I ran into him 4 times over 3 days. The last time I saw him, I stopped him from trying to take advantage of a young woman with an oversized bag that didn’t zip up, so he could’ve just reached in and grabbed what he liked. I left that same day, which is lucky because I’m not sure it would’ve been overly safe for me to be there after that point.
  4. I have flat-feet and require the use of orthotics. My feet are also very wide, and huge (size 9 or 10, depending). This is a godsend, because otherwise I suspect I would be the type of girl who had way too many shoes. Shoes in my size that have removable foot-beds to allow orthotics are either very ugly, or very expensive. Such a tragedy my life is, really.
  5. A monkey once grabbed a bag of bananas from me. And then proceed to eat the bananas. While watching me. I was 8. It was my birthday.
  6. I’ve been watching Days of Our Lives for the last 6 months. At first it was because I wanted to spend time with my extended family by having tea with them, and Days happened to be a show my grandmother followed at tea time and she required an English-Hindi translation of the ridiculous events happening on screen. Now I watch because I’m seriously curious whether the truth will ever come out that EJ and Stefano replaced Sammy’s husband Rafe with an imposter. The real Rafe has had his memory wiped, of course, and is now being kept in an insane asylum, and the fake Rafe is getting away with the act because the real Rafe had had a bad accident right before the switch, so he can blame everything newly weird about him on “the accident.” Craziness!
  7. I’m really glad I got this award because it gave me an excuse to blog. I haven’t been in the mood to cook much lately, and I find it hard to write about food when I’m not as interested in it. It’s just been a lot of beans ‘n rice, pasta, or my mum’s delicious home-cooking lately. Or kale and cous-cous salad.

Award 5 recently discovered blogs.

  1. The Frazzled Foodie The Frazzled Foodie is an understated Patricia Volk-esque food blog.  I love her family-recipe stories, and her kids (“kitchen helpers”) are adorable.
  2. Plateful showcases beautiful, mouth-watering pictures and recipes of South Indian dishes.  Can we say mmmmm?
  3. Top Five Parenting A parenting blog I’ve only very, very recently begun reading.  So far a grounded, interesting, non-judgmental read (EDIT- I just realized she hasn’t updated in 9 months…but I still think what she has blogged is a worthwhile read).
  4. Organoholic! Organic Food Blog A fascinating blog that asks really fascinating questions about where our food comes from.  The questions do get answered, by the way, so definitely worth the read.
  5. Life is Fare A wonderful blog about eating ethically and consciously.

Contact them and tell them about their award.

I think through the wonders of the internet and WordPress dashboards/statistics they’ll be able to figure it out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stylish blogger? Moi?

  1. Congrats!! And thanks for stopping over at my blog:) BTW, Rafe is so going to break out of that insane asylum any day now! But then what!!?? lol

    • Hee hee. It’s true…but then what indeed! Do you think Melanie and Brady will become a couple? I LOVE Brady.

      • Well, who knows what these crazy shows will do! But I hope that Melanie and Brady do not become a couple. I think they are great as friends with him as a sort of big brother. I also think it would be nice to have at least two people who haven’t been a couple. I mean really…when you look at it…everyone has been with everyone at some point! I think the next triangle may be Melanie/Dario/Stephanie.

      • Hmmm, you make a very good point. I guess we’ll see!

  2. IfByYes says:

    Okay, totally didn’t know #1 or #6

Leave a Reply

