Kale and cous-cous salad

I know. The last thing you are supposed to do when trying to gain readership for your blog is to Not. Blog. For way too long.

Sorry.

It’s been a strange few months. I can’t remember the last time I was so unemployed, and I go back and forth between loving it and hating it. I’m blessed though- my mother let’s me live with her (“I’m your mother. Of course”), and my husband is finishing up (just 2 months and a bit left!) an advanced diploma program that will hopefully lead to him finding work he loves that pays decently, and we will end up in a province where I can find work.

Sigh

I did not get The February Blues this year. I think, I think, because a good friend from university moved back to town at the end of January, and all of a sudden my days were filled up with tea dates, dog-walks, dinners and wonderful conversation and sharing of dreams and ideas. Everytime I talked to my husband on the phone or when he was here on the weekends and asked what I had been up to I’d ramble: “Oh, well, J____ and I did this, and then she said this, oh, and she wants to do this, and then we did this, and then…” An outsider would think I had a highschool crush!

So the point. This dear friend introduced me to this wonderful, wonderful kale salad. My mother loves it too, and I think in the last 3 weeks we’ve eaten it at least half a dozen times. You can eat a surprisingly large amount of it in one sitting. This will serve 2-4.

Ingredients:

~ 1 cup of cous-cous
~ 1 cup of boiling hot water

Place the cous-cous in a large bowl and pour the hot water over it. Cover and let sit for 10 minutes or so. In the meanwhile, saute:

~1 onion
~a couple cloves of garlic
~salt (to taste)

in a couple tbsp olive oil. I like to add chopped peppers here sometimes. When softened, add to the cous-cous. Mix well. Layer about ¼ cup raisins, ¼ cup chopped nuts, and ¼ cup crumbled feta, blue cheese, or goat cheese over top of the cous-cous and onion mixture. Steam about 4 cups of chopped kale, and layer this on top of the nuts and cheese. Done! I like to eat this warm or at room temperature, but my friend served it cold (which is almost just as good, but only almost).

Pictures someday. I promise.  Once I find the battery recharger.  And stop getting so excited to eat that I forget to photograph what I’ve made.

This entry was posted in Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kale and cous-cous salad

  1. IfByYes says:

    I’m glad you’ve been getting out and about!

  2. Pingback: Stylish blogger? Moi? | The Salted Tomato

Leave a Reply

